The 2 types of borderline personality disorder

Borderline personality disorder (BPD) is the most studied personality disorder and its main characteristics are: instability of self-image, interpersonal relationships and mood; on the other hand, a remarkable instability that affects in different contexts.

There are two types of borderline personality disorder: the first, “impulsive”, which is characterized by the existence of impulsivity in behavioral patterns, and the second, “borderline”, characterized by general emotional instability. , interpersonal and in your self-image.

In this article we will see what the two types of borderline personality disorder areaccording to the diagnostic criteria of the “International Classification of Diseases 10th Edition (ICD-10)”.

What is Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD)?

Before explaining what the two types of borderline personality disorder are, we must explain what this disorder is according to the most recent versions of the main diagnostic manuals on mental disorders (DSM-5 and ICD-11) .

It should be noted that the subdivision of the 2 types of borderline personality disorder is found only in the previous version of the ICD (ICD-10)as we will see below, although it should be kept in mind because, although in current textbooks this subdivision is not reflected, in clinical practice many mental health professionals have to mind to make a more detailed diagnosis in order to find the most suitable treatment for each particular case.

It is also important to mention that the ICD-11 has raised a vision of personality disorders different from the classifications that we are used to seeing, proposing to take a closer look at the reality present in the practice of psychiatry and clinical psychology so only one diagnosis called “Personality Disorders and Related Traits” appears, so there is no categorical classification of the various personality disorders that had appeared in DSM-5 and ICD-10 and, however , there is no explicit classification of borderline personality disorder in the ICD-11.

We will briefly discuss the classification of borderline personality disorder according to the DSM-5 criteria as well as the new ICD-11 classification of personality disorders before moving on to discuss the types of borderline personality disorder. .

1. DSM-5 Borderline Personality Disorder Criteria

The criteria for borderline personality disorder according to the DSM-5 manual are as follows.

Criterion A is that in the first place, a pattern of internal experience and behavior that does not fit the norm in your culture. This pattern should appear in at least 2 of the domains of cognition, affectivity, interpersonal activity and impulse control.

Moreover, criterion B indicates that these criteria of criterion A must be inflexible and appear in a wide variety of situationscausing significant discomfort in that person.

On the other hand, these patterns must remain stable over time to make the diagnosis and their appearance must date back to adolescence or early adulthood, and these patterns may not be due to another mental disorder or to the effects of substance use. .

2. ICD-11 Borderline Personality Disorder Criteria

As mentioned above, the ICD-11 offers only a general diagnosis of “personality disorder and related disorders”, so the definition in this manual is based on the alterations and dysfunctions present in the patient at the intra and interpersonal.

Then, the clinician first makes an assessment of the severity of this personality disorder: mild, moderate, or severe personality disorderbased on this dimensional assessment of the severity that you found in this alteration.

Next, categorically assess important personality patterns or traits; these assessed traits resemble the model of the “5 great personalities” (detachment, negative affectivity, disinhibition, anaplasty and anti-sociability) and with the traits that are predominant, a specific boundary behavior pattern that does not fit any of the dimensions of the Big 5 model must be described.

Now that we have seen the diagnosis of borderline personality disorder according to the DSM-5 and ICD-11 criteria, we will continue to explain the types of borderline personality disorder.

What types of borderline personality disorder are there?

According to the WHO ICD-10 criteria, there are 2 types of borderline personality disorder (BPD), whose classification names correspond to the two most significant symptoms in each case: first, impulsiveness and; on the other hand, an emotional, self-image and also interpersonal instability.

This is why in each of the two types of borderline personality disorder that we will explain in more detail below, one or the other of these symptoms that we have just discussed becomes more prevalent.

1. Borderline impulsive personality disorder

The first of the two types of borderline personality disorder would be “impulsive type” BPD, whose fundamental and differentiating trait from the other type is the impulsiveness present in the behaviors of these people, so that they usually do not foresee the consequences of the actions they perform impulsively and that, very often, they lead them to become involved in self-destructive behavior and even to have outbursts of violent acts.

In impulsive TLP it is also characteristic that these people have emotional instability, so that they could somewhat abruptly fluctuate their moods in a very short time and with no apparent relation to the external events surrounding it.

The ICD-10 diagnostic criteria for “impulsive” TLP are listed below.

On the one hand, the general diagnostic criteria for personality disorders must be met.

On the other hand, at least 3 of the following criteria must be presentthe second must be present:

  • Marked predisposition to be quarrelsome and to have conflicts with others.

  • He tends to show outbursts of violence and anger, being unable to control his explosive behaviors.

  • It is difficult for you to complete long-term tasks that do not offer you any immediate recommendations.

  • Whimsical and unstable humor.

  • Marked predisposition to act in unexpected ways and without considering the consequences.

  • You may be interested: “Antisocial behavior: what it is, risk factors and associated disorders”

2. Borderline Personality Disorder

The second of the two types of borderline personality disorder would be “borderline” BPD, whose main characteristic is instability, which influences your interpersonal relationships, emotionally, but also your self-image.

The instability that is present in your self-image or your perception of yourself is reflected in your self. major changes in personal preferences, goals, or even sexual identity apparently without too much judgment.

As for the instability in social or interpersonal relationships, it results in his sudden changes in what he thinks of other people in his environment, which fluctuates according to the attention he receives from them towards him. Emotional instability can be seen through her frequent variability of moods..

The diagnostic criteria for borderline borderline personality disorder according to ICD-10 are as follows.

On the one hand, the general diagnostic criteria for personality disorders must be met.

Besides, at least 3 of the following must be present Criteriathe second must be present:

  • There are doubts or alterations in his self-image and preferences.
  • He easily gets involved in unstable and intense relationships, which often end badly.
  • He’s trying too hard to keep her from being abandoned.
  • He repeatedly makes threats or even acts of self-aggression.
  • Chronic feelings of emptiness.

Leave a Comment