The 9 stages of human life

While we often think of “life” as something we all experience, the truth is that there are nuances that make each of us go through it in different ways. One of the factors that causes it to change is the material context in which we live, such as the type of family we are born into, the money we have, where we live, etc.

however, no less important factor is the way our own body supports us. And in this sense, the passage of years and age makes us experience things differently.

Are there “vital steps”?

This is why, for example, that in the history of psychology, many authors have attempted to classify the stages of, Especially those that are part of one of its phases: childhood. Although each has set their own criteria for deciding where one ends and the other begins.

Sigmund Freud, the father of psychoanalysis, defined different stages of psychosexual development, a theory closely related to his idea of ​​the unconscious. Jean Piaget, in turn, laid the foundation for evolutionary psychology by establishing stages of cognitive development from childhood to adulthood.

But all of these ideas are framed in a larger theoretical context that tells us about life stages in general, valuing both psychological and physical changes.

The different phases of life that we go through

Below we will see what are the main stages of life that define our behavior, How we perceive reality and what are our needs.

While it is true that the boundaries of these stages are not very clear and it is debatable whether some begin or end sooner or later, there is relative consensus on what they are and how they occupy our minds. lives.

1. Prenatal stage

Life begins before birth, and the prenatal stage is that which includes the times when it has not yet left the uterus. In this period, we are already able to learn through touch and sound, that is, the human brain already associates stimuli with appropriate responses.

    2. Early childhood

    Infancy begins at birth and ends around 3 or 4 years of age. It is the stage during which the most important stages in the development of language and in addition the essential learnings on the functioning of the world and the movement of things are carried out.

    In addition, the use of language leads to begin to create more and more abstract and complex concepts that will help to achieve a deeper degree of understanding of things.

    3. Early childhood

    This stage of life is the one which, more or less, passes from 3 to 6 years; for this reason, it is also defined as the preschool stage.

    In this phase, self-concept is formed and the ability to think about the mental states of others is acquired, either to have a hunch of their intentions or to know what information they do not know. This skill is called theory of mind.

    4. Middle childhood

    Intermediate or school childhood varies from 6 to 11 years. At this point, much progress is made in the ability to understand mathematical operations and the structure of complex sentences.

    Likewise, the importance of having good relationships with others and of portraying a good image begins to gain weight, and inclusion in a friendship group is also more valued.

    5. Adolescence

    Adolescence ranges from 11 to 17 years old. This is a crucial step, as the ability to think in abstract terms is consolidated and other hormonal changes occur which can produce some emotional lability.

    In addition, adolescence is the most intense part of the search for one’s own identity and the social circles to which one wants to belong acquire a great influence on the person.

    6. Youth stage

    This stage varies from around 18 to 35 years old. Here the consolidation of the most lasting circles of friendship takes place and one learns to live with a high degree of independence, so that one is almost no longer dependent on parents. Psychologically and biologically, physical and mental abilities also reach their peak, and between the ages of 25 and 30 they begin to decline slightly.

    7. Maturity stage

    Maturity varies from 36 to 50 years. In this phase, the work side is consolidated and a specialization is learned that will generate income to live independently in most Western countries.

    On the other hand, changes in life expectancy become moderate and vital goals are geared more towards stability.

    8. Stage of adult maturity

    This phase goes from 50 to 65 years old. This tends to consolidate the income level to levels that allow you to live better than before, but there are bodily changes that need to be managed. At the same time, the stability rating is also increasing.

    9. Third age

    Seniors start at 65, And in her a new independence is gained with the disappearance of the usual work obligations and the walk of the sons and daughters that could have taken place.

    In some cases, this produces empty nest syndrome, and exposure to bereavement is more common as same generation parents and friendships die

    Leave a Comment