The 8 planets of the solar system (ordered and with their characteristics)

The solar system, recognized by astrologers as “our system”, is made up of planets and asteroids revolving around the only star that gives the system its name, the Sun..

All the elements that compose it revolve directly or indirectly around the Sun due to the tensions created by the mass of each celestial body. There are so many systems similar to the Universe, but this is what interests us because we depend on it to survive.

In this article we will see what are the planets of the solar system.

    How is the solar system formed?

    It should be noted that the solar system it formed about 4.6 billion years ago as a result of the gravitational collapse of a giant molecular cloud. This phenomenon resulted in the formation of another billion stars, the amount of which, according to experts, is unknown.

    Some of the main elements that give shape and life to the solar system also include smaller planets, dust, interstellar gas, satellites and asteroids. It all belongs to the famous Milky Way, which in turn is made up of hundreds of billions of stars. Our solar system is therefore located in one of these arms of the road, called Orion.

    main Features

    The bodies that give shape and life to the solar system are the Sun, which represents 99% of the total mass of the system and has a diameter of 1,500,000 kilometers, And the planets, divided into two types called interior and exterior. It should be noted that the outer planets are surrounded by a ring. Dwarf planets, which belong to another category of the aforementioned planets, include celestial bodies such as Pluto or Eris.

    Satellites are another important elementSince these are larger bodies orbiting large planets such as Jupiter or planet Earth, the only satellite is the Moon.

    On the other hand, we find its younger brothers, the smaller bodies, which are concentrated in the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. Asteroids, icy objects, liquids, gases, comets, cosmic dust, and meteorites make up the rest of the elements for the solar system to take shape.

      The three categories

      To better understand this system, expert astronomers have decided to set up a classification of three categories of the solar system which explain the formation of the same.

      first category

      In this category are the 8 planets that make up the solar system. The terrestrial planets are Earth, Mars, Venus and Mercury. The aliens or giants (already mentioned in the previous point) are Neptune, Uranus, Jupiter and Saturn. Here, all the planets have satellites orbiting them.

      second category

      Here are the so-called dwarf planets. It is a celestial body orbiting the Sun, spherical but not too wide to lighten the vicinity of its orbit. Here is the reason for its nomenclature. The planets that make up this second category are: Ceres, Eris, Haumea, Pluto and Eris.

      third category

      In this category reside the so-called “minor bodies of the solar system”, which these are all the remaining objects orbiting the Sun.: These are asteroids (composed of amorphous shapes), Kuiper belt objects, meteorites and icy comets.

      The planets of the solar system

      As we have described in the previous points, the planets of the solar system are the ones that make up the most important part of all their complex makeup. Then we will delve into each of them in more detail.

      1. Wednesday

      We start with this planet being the closest to the Sun, in addition to being the smallest of its counterparts. It has a resemblance to the Earth, because its composition is 70% metallic elements and the remaining 30% correspond to silicates. In addition, as with the Moon, Mercury has a large number of meteorite impacts.

      2. Venus

      A Venus corresponds to him second place in terms of distance from the Sun.. In the planets of the solar system, Venus is often referred to as the “brother planet of Earth” because of its resemblance, both in size and mass, and its composition of earth and rock types.

      3. Earth

      Planet Earth, our planet, is the largest of the so-called rocky planets. It formed about 4.6 billion years ago and its name comes from the Latin “Terra”, a Greek deity which corresponds to femininity and fertility. 71% of its composition corresponds to the hydrosphere (water), a differentiating fact that has allowed the existence and persistence of human life. No other planet in the solar system contains such a level of liquid.

      4. Mart

      Mars is the second smallest planet in the solar system, after Mercury. It has long been known as the “red planet”., Fruit of the reddish color which acquires by iron oxide over most of its surface. Its size is almost half that of Earth and its gravity is 40% smaller, making it virtually uninhabitable according to the latest research from NASA.

      5. Jupiter

      The Planet the solar system which receives its name from the god Zeus of Greek mythology (Jupiter in Roman mythology) is, preceded by the Sun, the planet with the largest celestial body. It is 1300 times larger than the Earth. As a massive gaseous body, its composition is essentially composed of hydrogen and ice. As a curious fact, it is considered to be the oldest planet in the solar system, Preceding the Sun included.

      6. Saturn

      This planet in the solar system is famous for its imposing luminosity coming from its rings surrounding the planet. Back in Galileo, he saw him for the first time in 1610. Almost the entire planet (96%) is made up of hydrogen and the remaining 3% ice.

      7. Uranus

      This planet is believed to be the first to be discovered using a telescope. Its composition is very similar to that of its brothers Saturn and Jupiter, as it consists of helium and hydrogen, as well as water, ammonia and methane but in large quantities. A special feature of this planet in the solar system is its atmosphere, With the lowest temperatures in the entire system, reaching a low of -224 degrees Celsius.

      8. Neptune

      Neptune was discovered about two centuries ago by Urbain Le Verrier, John Couch and Johann Galle, in 1847. However, some historians and astronomers they argue that the famous Galileo Galilei has already observed this planet for the year 1612, Data not yet confirmed. The planet Neptune is made up of rocks, water, methane, hydrogen, ice, and liquid ammonia.

      Bibliographical references:

      • Giancoli, CD (2007). “Circular motion and gravitation.” In Pearson Education. Physics: Principles with Applications (Sixth Edition). Mexico City, p. 125-126.
      • Sukyoung Yi; Pierre Demarque; Yong-Cheol Kim; Young-Wook Lee; Chang H. Ree; Thibault Lejeune; Sydney Barnes (2001). Towards better age estimates for stellar populations: Y2 isochrons for solar mixing. Supplement 136 of the journal Astrophysics: pages 417-437.

      Leave a Comment