The 5 sacred laws of Islam (which must be observed by every Muslim)

The religion of Islam, like the 3 main monotheistic religions, is based on several sacred directives to be able to assign it the category of “faithful”. In the particular case where one of these regulations in force is violated, the subject will be declared unclean.

Today, many scholars and specialists in Islamic theology are opening a gap between the sacred and the interpretable because, as with case law, all laws are the victim of manipulation. However, in Islam we find a certain unanimity in the declaration of the 5 fundamental and irrefutable pillars for professing this faith.

    When was Islam founded?

    It is universally recognized that Islam is the last religion to descend from heaven to reveal its message to the last great prophet, Muhammad.. This Semitic religion (contrary to what many usually think) was created in 622 in Saudi Arabia, exactly in the city of Mecca.

    The first premise that Islam proclaims, and which anyone should recognize by studying it, is the acceptance “of Allah as the only God and of Muhammad as His last messenger”. On the other hand, the Quran is the dogmatic book on which it is based, although other Jewish and Christian prophets are also recognized, as are the Bible and Torah.

    The 5 unconditional pillars of Islam

    As could be the direct analogy with Christianity and its 10 commandments, in Islam only 5 pillars have been dictated that support any basis and raison d’être. In the following lines we will explain in detail what they consist of.

    1. The “shahada” (witness)

    The first of the pillars, as we discussed in the introduction, is the acceptance and surrender of the existence of Allah as one and legitimate God., Thus denying polytheism, and also recognizing that Muhammad is the last prophet and what to believe.

    2. The “salty” (practice prayer)

    The Koran insists on this point with great importance, assuring that “whoever deprives himself of the salad will be deprived of paradise”. During the early days of the expansion of Islam, the initial prayer was to be performed up to about 30 times. God, say expert historians, reduced this series to 5 times to please his loyal followers.

    These five prayers are based on the solar calendar, which changes throughout the year. The first prayer coincides with sunrise (dawn), noon, mid-afternoon, dusk and night, always facing Mecca.

    3. The “zakat” (giving alms)

    It is recognized as a tax that the faithful deposit on their private property.. That is, a minimum percentage on the value of the money you have, the vehicle or any other type of property. In theory, this is 3% of the total of all assets, but the will of each Muslim is at their discretion, and they can contribute more than expected.

    4. The “fast” (fasting)

    Surely, along with prayer, this is the second most important pillar because it requires an exercise of sacrifice which will judge the devotion of Muslims. The month of Ramadan (holy month) includes this commandment, which consists of fasting with water and eating throughout the day without exception; from dawn to dusk for at least 29 days and at most 30.

    5. The “hajj” (pilgrimage to the sacred place)

    Last but not least of the sacred laws which end with this chapter of the 5 pillars. There are specifically three sacred places for Muslims: Mecca and Medina first, for it was the stone that Adam himself raised as a sacred shrine (the Kaaba) and the place where Islam was born. Then there is Jerusalem (Al-Quds in Arabic), where the Golden Dome Mosque is located from there Muhammad ascended to heaven.

    some considerations

    Although in many cases religions can be intransigent, in the case before us with the 5 sacred laws of Islam, there are some exceptions to their fulfillment. For example, in the case of alms, those who are in a critical situation to cover their living expenses are exempted from complying with it.

    At points 4 and 5 (prayer and pilgrimage) something similar happens. If a person suffers from any kind of pathology or physical limitation, he is also forgiven for fasting. Of course, he is obliged to make up for his exception by feeding the needy. The pilgrimage should be made as long as the resources are available for it.

    In point 3, there is no kind of forgiveness and / or excuse to avoid its practice, because even if a person has reduced mobility or some other type of physical difficulty, the Quran advises to pray in the same way. more comfortable possible. Example.

    Leave a Comment